Wine Review: The Wolftrap Syrah

A couple of weekends ago we went to a fundraiser for a local animal shelter. The Fur Ball has become quite the event in our small community and my work buys a table at it every year.

This was my first year going and I took the hubby with me. One thing I gotta give the animal shelter credit for, they knew the best way to keep us drinking to keep the money flowing, and that was to have endless bottles of wine. The night started with 4 bottles on each table, 2 red and 2 white, and the words “When you run out of wine just raise your hand!”. There were 4 delicous bottles (according to my husband and fellow coworkers) and the one that stood out to my husband was The Wolftrap. It was a syrah, which was taking him out of his comfort zone of merlot and cheap peach champagne. And he loved it. We actually had a surplus of bottles on our table at one time, and decided that the wine was paid for with the table, so let’s take some home! They left the corks in them, so we smuggled them out in my purse. We are pretty sure someone saw us, any other bottles that came to our table after came without the cork.

  
But back to the wine! The main thing my husband liked about this wine is it had a spice to it, and he loves spicy food! This wine has opened up a new door of new wines for him to try. We have searched every store for this particular brand with no luck so far. However, a google search told me this bottle ranges from $8-$10. We will be keeping our eyes open for this bottle and when we find it again, it will become a regular in our rotation.

On a side note, I’m excited to get to try this bottle, it is a South African wine, and I have South African heritage!

Also, Happy Easter everyone! Our next wine review will be a wine be got in honor of today:

  

Leave a Reply

