Homemade Rotel Tomatoes

I love canning my own food. First, it’s satisfying to say I can do it and to be able to make recipes from scratch, second, it’s healthier because I can cut down on the salt content and preservatives. 

Tomatoes were on sale and looked amazing this week so we got 10lbs to make our own Rotel tomatoes. There are numerous recipes out there, we just combined a few recipes together and added ingredients until we got the right favor. 

Our recipe included:

  • 10lbs Roma tomatoes
  • 1/2 onion (I used a red onion, white would be ok too)
  • 20 jalapeños
  • 3 poblanoes, roasted on the grill
  • 4 habaneros (we like spicy, omit this if you like less spice)
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • A pinch of salt
  • Lemon juice for the canning process 

We started by throwing the poblano peppers and a few jalapeños on the grill, after they had a few nice grill marks on them we put them to the side to cool. While those were grilling, we diced up the jalapeños, habaneros, and onion. I remove most of the seeds from my peppers, you can adjust to your personal taste.


To prepare the tomatoes, we blanched them. We cut a x shallowly in the skin on one side of each tomato. Then I boiled them for 1-2 minutes in batches. I had my sink filled with cold water and ice to put the tomatoes in after boiling. 


After all the tomatoes are blanched, start peeling off the skin! If done right the skin should peel easily off. While I peeled the skin, Alan diced and chopped. I love my chop wizard. This thing works awesome for recipes like this! 


I also highly recommend a good knife. We love our shun knifes. We fight over who gets to cut up ingredients because we both enjoy that step of cooking!


The poblanoes can be seeded and diced up too as soon as they are cool enough. We threw all the cut up ingredients into a stock pot and added a pinch of salt.


And set it to simmer on low. We let it simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour, stirring and tasting occasionally to see if we wanted to add anything. 


For the canning process, I recommend following directions for your personal canner. I use a pressure cooker/ canner. I love it it and highly recommend one if you do a lot of canning. 

We sterilized all our kids and jars in the dishwasher, then added the recommended amount of lemon juice to each jar. Then I added in my Rotel tomatoes, leaving 1/2 inch of head room in each jar. After the lids are nice and tight, into the water bath the jars go! 


My favorite part of canning, is after the water bath when all the kids start to pop! 

I ended up with 6 pints and 4 half pints. I like having different sizes for different recipes. 


Rotel tomatoes are a super easy recipe to do at home, while its time consuming the process isn’t too taxing. I by all means am not a professional, hence why I highly recommend reading the directions on your own personal canner for the canning process. 

Also, please let me know if any glaring typos and grammar mistakes. I’m posting this from my phone and auto correct is out to get me. 

Leave a Reply

